+27 (0)12 346 2152



The South African National Energy Association (SANEA) announced the appointment of their new Chairperson, Kiren Maharaj at the 2019 AGM. Kiren will be taking over the controls from stalwart Brian Statham who was actively involved in the work of SANEA and the World Energy Council since 1999.  He served as Secretary General of SANEA from 2000 to 2006 and as Executive Chairman from March 2007 until March 2019.  In recognition Brian was awarded Honorary Life Membership.

Brian served two terms as an Officer (Trustee) of the World Energy Council, Chairman of its Studies Committee and a member of its Communications, Finance, Programme and Remuneration Committees from 2010 – 2016.  At the 2016 Executive Assembly Brian was elected as an Honorary Officer of the World Energy Council.

Kiren is a dynamic leader with more than 20 years’ experience at strategic, operational and management levels. Operating as an executive in Africa’s foremost utility, Kiren has been involved in many game changing initiatives across multiple technical and economic functions of the energy value chain. She was appointed Managing Director of Gibb Power (a local professional services company) and EDF (an international power company originating from France) in February 2019. She has been a Director of SANEA since 2017.

Wendy Poulton was appointed Secretary General of SANEA. She is currently the General Manager Organisational Strategy at Eskom and her main area of technical expertise is in the energy field where she has worked for more than 25 years.  Wendy has held various roles in Eskom in R&D, environment, sustainable development, climate change, safety and strategy and risk.

Five SANEA Directors were re-nominated and appointed for their second year term at the AGM, namely:

Kiren MaharajGibb PowerChairperson2019VIEW CV
Wendy PoultonEskom Holdings SOC LimitedSecretary General2018VIEW CV
Priyesh GosaiUniversity of Cape TownDirector2018VIEW CV
Prashaen ReddyA. T. KearneyDirector2018VIEW CV
Dave WrightPrivateDirector2010VIEW CV

Six new Directors were appointed at the AGM, namely:

Chiboni EvansSouth African Electrotechnical Export CouncilDirector2019VIEW CV
Hilary JoffeBrunswick GroupDirector2019VIEW CV
Melusi MaposaAccentureDirector2019VIEW CV
Elizabeth MarabwaDepartment of EnergyDirector2019VIEW CV
Nonkonzo MolaiAberdare CablesDirector2019VIEW CV
Norman NdabaPrivateDirector2019VIEW CV

The retiring Directors Vicky Basson and Rentia van Tonder, received acknowledgement and a heartfelt thank you from SANEA.